I Knew Better, and Now I’ve Got Homework


My colleagues gave me homework today. Humph. What did they give me for homework, and why, you may ask, did they give it to me when I am the one who should be dishing it out?

Well, in case you haven’t noticed, it’s been three months and six days since my last blog. I was on a roll for a very long time of writing a blog every single day. I always knew if I ever skipped a day, I would fall down the slippery slope of non commitment, and that, my friends, is exactly what happened. A day, here, a day, there, and before I knew it, I wasn’t writing at all.

Thanks to those dear homework assigners, I am climbing back up on the proverbial horse and will start writing again. It’s the least I can do.

I could tell you that I didn’t write because it’s been hot. That would be the truth as it has been hot as Hades in Alabama this summer–so hot I couldn’t even stand to go geocaching. However, I do have air conditioning.

I could tell you that I didn’t write because I’ve been off. That would be the truth, too. I will tell you that I have discovered that long stretches of being off for me does not cause me to be more productive–it has quite the opposite effect. With all that time looming before me, I find that I can procrastinate till the cows come home and then some.

I could tell you that I didn’t write because my muse left me, but I’m pretty sure I don’t have one. I’m just a pound it out at the keyboard kinda gal. 

I could tell you that I didn’t write because the Music of the Spheres quit playing, but that would just be a lie since I’ve never heard them play.

I could tell you that I didn’t write because someone told me that my writing sucked, but that’s not true because apparently some of you actually like to read it.

What I can tell you is that I started reading advice like don’t blog more that once a week, stick to one topic, have a set schedule, always include a photo to make it more interesting . . .

I started over thinking the whole deal.

Oh, and I got lazy.

Dear Readers, with that I have fulfilled my homework assignment for tonight, and I plan to pound the keyboard regularly once again.

This entry was posted in Humor, Random, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I Knew Better, and Now I’ve Got Homework

  1. Katey says:

    So nice to see you back and I give you an A+.

  2. rolandmann says:

    As a blog reader, it IS difficult to maintain a high level of enthusiasm for any blogger that posts EVERY day. I find that I skip them…and then, like writing, it gets easier to skip. As a fellow blogger, I, too, have heard all the magic “once a week,” or “never on Wednesday,” or “Friday’s only”…but i don’t know what the magic formula is. I see my own numbers consistent better when I’m consistent hitting the same day(s) week after week.
    Regardless, GLAD to see you back! Keep writing!

  3. cambsprint says:

    Glad to see you have your commitment issues under control now. Nice to hear from you again.

  4. BisonWoman says:

    Well, I don’t know if they are under control, but I’m working on it. Thanks for the kind words!

  5. Yay you! 🙂 I find it difiicult to keep up with a regular blog…if only I could write it as I am driving down the road or walking down the street! It seems that the moments of inspiration only strike then and by the time I sit down at a keyboard or paper, the moment is completely gone.

Leave a Reply

