The Beach Boys, GG#1, & Me: 2001


Seeing The Beach Boys on the Grammys brought back some great memories for me.

As a child of the ’60s, I have listened to The Beach Boys all my life. I’m sure my first exposure was through my sister who is 10 years older than me (“I” if you are an English teacher reading this). Of course, I dumped them in favor of The Beatles as soon as I heard Paul sing, but The Beach Boys’ music resonated throughout my life.

Therefore, when I found myself in Southern California in 2001, and I heard that The Beach Boys were going to be performing at the San Diego County Fair in Del Mar while I was there, I knew I had to go see them.

The Beach Boys (left to right): Carl Wilson, D...

Image via Wikipedia

Never mind that Brian Wilson and a couple more of the boys weren’t going to be singing. I HAD to go. Period.

Luckily it was a fair, after all, and I had grandgirl #1 as an excuse to go. Mind you, she was only 3 at the time, but a fair is a fun time even for a tot. She got to ride rides, and I got to see and hear music icons.

Believe it or not, I actually got in trouble with the parental units for keeping her out too late that night. We were out all the way past 9 p.m. Have you ever been in trouble for staying out that late at age 45? 😀 I knew crossed arms would meet me at the door, but I really didn’t care. The grandgirl and I were going to be able to say what most folks from Alabama could never say–we had seen and heard The Beach Boys live in concert. I knew she would never remember it, but I also knew I always would.

This entry was posted in Culture, Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Beach Boys, GG#1, & Me: 2001

  1. Sandra Conner says:

    Hi. Just wanted to stop by and say thank you for visiting my photo and clicking “like.” Your site is full of great pictures! I especially like the ones from the Smokies. They are my favorite place on this planet, and I would live there if I could. I always feel like I’m “home” when I’m there. Maybe it’s the Cherokee blood in my veins, but I think it’s where I belong.
    Blessings on you. Sandra

Leave a Reply

