Adventures in Geocaching: Blinded by Ivy


Actually, I’m not blinded by ivy. I’m mostly just blind when it comes to finding caches, evidenced by my stats of 1,983 finds to 399 DNFs (did not find).

The local cachers keep saying they are going to throw an event for me when I reach 1,000 DNFs. That would be swell!

Anyway, on to the cache at hand. I had looked for this cache a couple of times before, but I didn’t DNF it because it was raining both times, so I felt like I didn’t give it the ole college try. Today I went back, and since the ivy–lots of ivy–where the cache is hidden is getting a tad ratty-looking from cachers pawing through it, I called the cache owner for help. I also knew I needed help because I had been called to help another cacher a few days ago, and he ended up DNFing the cache.

Turns out the cache had actually been placed by someone else, so I called him. After looking where he told me to, he said he’d come look.

I got in my car and waited. We walked to the location and he started poking around all the places I had looked. He even managed to step into a hole that sank him to his knee, and that right there is one reason why I’m a pretty terrible cacher. I won’t do such things.

After a bit more looking, he said, “Look here.” Well, wouldn’t you know it, it was right where I had looked before. You’d think anybody could see a plastic container with a red strip, but nooooo. Not me.

I apologized profusely for dragging him out in the 30ish degree weather to help me.

He knows I can’t see anything, but he came anyway to help me. I definitely owe him one.

All I had to do was walk up those steps and look to the left. Easy peezey unless you are a blind cacher like me.

This entry was posted in Geocaching, Humor, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

