Finally Back To Normal


I didn’t think it would ever happen–the getting back to normal, that is. Thanks to an after Christmas trip, we didn’t get the Christmas decorations down until today. January 8th. The latest date we’ve ever delayed to.

Poor DH was so sick of looking at them. At least I was gone on a trip for seven days and didn’t have to look at them then. He, on the other hand, had to continue to view the merriment a week longer than I did.

I can always tell it’s way past time to take the decorations down when I don’t turn on any of the lights at night, much less during the day. I love Christmas lights, but a few days into January is as long as my love lasts.

The arduous task of removing the decor took over four hours. The most time-consuming was taking the ornaments off the tree. I did take great delight at chunking many of them that I decided I didn’t like anymore. I also had fun smashing the leftovers that didn’t make the cut. I figured if we didn’t like them enough to hang them, they might as well go away.

Except for a lone piece of tape still stuck above a doorway, and I’m sure some rogue decoration that I overlooked as I do every year, the Christmas decor is safely stored in the attic.

For the next 10 1/2 months anyway.

This entry was posted in Christmas, Culture, Holidays, Humor, Random and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finally Back To Normal

  1. Find Focus says:

    Bravo! I love Christmas decorations and can stand them much longer than most, but I do understand the limits of what one can withstand. lol! Like you, I also always seem to have that stray piece of tape… and it’s usually over a doorway. : )

Leave a Reply

