Adventures in Geocaching, or How I Almost Impaled Myself


I went geocaching today. Normally, I usually just have fun, see some new sights, find a few caches, and DNF (did not find) a few more. Today’s adventure was a tad different.

Exiting the car, I focused on following the pointing arrow on my GPSr to the cache. I hadn’t gone more than three purposeful strides when WHAM! I slammed into something.

What could it be?

Oh, no! I had walked into a rusty iron spike sticking out of a concrete barrier. There was a space between two of them, and I thought I was walking through them. I did not see the spike.

I hit the spike so hard that it ripped a hole in my jeans, and I am so glad I was wearing them. If I had been wearing the much thinner pants I had planned to wear, I would surely have punctured a hole in my leg.

I went to the car, checked my wound, and decided that it was only a scrape since it wasn’t bleeding. I actually tried to find the cache after that, but I had to DNF it. Imagine that.

After giving up the search, I check the wound again. Blood. Well, great. Just great.

Okay, I’m in a strange city with no knowledge of any medical anything, so through an internet search I decide on a doc-in-a-box to go to.

Imagine my surprise when I walk in and everything looks modern and fresh, and I don’t catch a stinky whiff anywhere. You know that yucky smell in most medical facilities? This place doesn’t have it.

After filling out the paperwork, I walk to the room for her to take my vitals. She said the doctor was going to love me!

Why?

She said it was because I’m a Bama fan. Turns out, the doctor is from Alabama, too. He also went to The University of Alabama. (All this happened in Florida.) I guess she could tell I’m a fan because I was wearing my Championship shirt and carrying my houndstooth purse. 😀

When I saw the doctor, I told him Roll Tide! After doing what all Southerners do, which is make connections, we were both a bit flabbergasted to find that we were from the same town. The nurse wondered what the odds were of that happening. Apparently 100% on this day!

He cleaned my wound, told me I didn’t need stitches, gave me a tetanus shot and prescription for antibiotics, and sent me on my way. I can honestly say I’ve never had a more pleasant “emergency” doctor visit.

The day started out lousy but ended pretty well with my actually finding a couple of caches. I like adventures in geocaching, but I prefer they not take me to the medicine man.

This entry was posted in Geocaching, Humor, Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Adventures in Geocaching, or How I Almost Impaled Myself

  1. Find Focus says:

    I can’t claim to be a ‘Bama fan – I’m also from the south so I’m sure you’ll understand when I say I have to be true to my school… lol! : ) It’s really great that you had such a great experience with a doc-in-a-box situation! I’ve never tried geocaching, even though it’s on my to-do list. When I get around to it I will certainly keep your post in mind and watch for hidden hazards! : )

Leave a Reply

