Shutter Priority Mode, or How To Make Streaky Light Photos


This evening I was playing around with my camera, a Pentax K-x, and I decided to try to make a streaky light photo like I’ve seen in some of my photography books.

I remembered that they said to set the shutter speed to a long time and to use shutter priority mode. Okay. I’ll give it a whirl.

On the first attempt, I didn’t have the shutter speed set for long enough–maybe 5 seconds. I got a little effect, but not enough to get excited about.

Next shot I tried 10 seconds, but it still wasn’t enough.

Fine. Bump it up to 3o seconds–the highest my camera will allow.

Eureka and way cool! It works! I feel like a real photographer!

This entry was posted in Aperture 3, Pentax, Photography, Photos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

