Tooth Ripping-Ouch Day Again?!


A short 42 days ago, I had to have a tooth pulled as the result of tooth #12 splitting. You can read about that here.

Unbelievably, on Thursday night, tooth #5 did exactly the same thing–it split. Now in case you don’t know, tooth #5 is the exact opposite of tooth #12. I now have two gaping holes on either side of my upper teeth.

I can’t begin to tell you how attractive that is.

The upside is that I now have two gaps just like teenagers do when they have teeth pulled for braces. Also, the overlap on my front teeth has straightened out some. Having overlapping teeth has always been a puzzle to me because as a child, I had a gap between my two front teeth. Now, maybe they will straighten out.

If they don’t, I have choices now.

Braces–I could have straight teeth, or do you think the braces would split the teeth I have left?

Partial Plate–In this case, it would be one fake tooth on each side. I guess I could pretend I’m a vampire. It’s all the rage this season, don’t you know? Even with that advantage, I’m not so sure I want to have to take two teeth out every night and put them in every morning.

Bridge–One on each side. Not a great option, but at least they don’t have to be removed every day.

Implants–Drilling a rod into my jawbone doesn’t sound like fun, but supposedly it’s a permanent fix. I haven’t looked into all the pros and cons on this option.

Do Nothing–Certainly the cheapest choice but not the most attractive.

I don’t like this. I don’t like it at all.

I’m thankful for a good dentist and a good oral surgeon, but I hope the rest of my teeth stay attached to my head.

This entry was posted in Humor, Random and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tooth Ripping-Ouch Day Again?!

  1. Doing nothing is not a great option for you because over time all of the other teeth in your mouth will want to fill those spaces and this can cause your bite to be thrown off. This then could cause jaw pain neck pain or back pain; headaches and the list goes on and on. Doing a bridge is an option but you have to drill down a tooth on either side of the spaces now compromising otherwise healthy teeth.
    As for the implants that is a good option depending on where the teeth are located in the upper jaw you need to be aware of the sinus is located. On the lower you want to be aware of your bone levels and where the nerves are.
    Dentures are also a good option but as you said removing them nightly isn’t always fun; but this is the option if you don’t want anything drilled into bone, or teeth drilled and it will help maintain all of the other teeth in your mouth. I’m not sure if you are in Canada or the States but we are in Canada and tooth #12 is the upper central incisior here so I am unsure of the location of your extractions.

Leave a Reply

