Burning Daylight


In the geocaching world, burning daylight is a bad, bad thing.

If you are sleeping past daylight, you are missing time to cache. Lounging around drinking coffee is no good either. Why would you do that when you can drink your coffee just as easily in the car, and stop and snag caches along the way?

In the summer, hitting the cache trail early can result in a caching day stretching 12 hours or more. Even if you don’t want to cache that long, heading out early can save you from caching in the blistering Alabama heat.

In the winter, launching early is almost required since the days are so short. Of course you may freeze your hiney off, but sometimes the sun warms the day up fairly quickly.

In photography, burning daylight by sleeping late is almost criminal. The golden hour(s) of awesome photo ops come early in the morning and late in the evening. I’ve learned the hard way that if I’m looking for awesome color in my photos, I might as well put my camera away during full-on sun which always results in washed-out colors. My photos improved drastically when I started shooting in morning or evening light, or overcast days.

I love to sleep late, but my two chosen hobbies want me to get up early and not burn daylight. Sometimes I’m up and at ’em–other times I’m snoozing in my bed or lingering over coffee.

One thing is for sure, as hard as it is to get up and get moving, I’ve never regretted it.

This entry was posted in Geocaching, Humor, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Burning Daylight

  1. Lesley says:

    Loved this post. I know what you mean about the golden hour, I get all my best photos then.

    Not that we get that many of those precious moments here – usually it’s foggy, rainy, snowy, overcast etc. etc. My mantra of: “An overcast sky is just a giant softbox, shoot the details” so useful ….and so overused.

Leave a Reply

