Tooth Ripping-Ouch Day


Yesterday was not a fun day. Tooth #12 was ripped out of my head. Yep. That’s its name–tooth #12. That’s the one that if you don’t get it replaced, you look like you just stepped out of the movie Deliverance.

My misery started earlier last week with a little pain that I dismissed because I had successfully completed my six-month dental checkup a couple of weeks before. I realized the pain was real when my tooth broke in half while I was having my relaxing lunch at the river.

You can read about that here.

Talk about a way to ruin your day. I called the dentist, and of course couldn’t see him until the next day. When I got there, I had all kinds of fun on his carnival ride where he turns me upside down on my head to the point I am sliding headfirst to the floor. Man!

After feeling my tooth shift under his finger, he told me that it was one of those freak things that rarely happen. Lucky me. Then, he says he’s going to pull it.

Say what? Um, are you going to put me to sleep? I knew the answer was no, so we talked and decided I’d go to an oral surgeon. He got me in that day, so I left one office and proceeded directly to the other.

When my oral surgeon walked in, he said, “Do I know you?” I told him he had pulled my wicked wisdom tooth with the roots wrapped around my jawbone a year and a half ago. He still didn’t remember until I reminded him of what I told him.

“I weigh more than I look like I do, and I want you to be sure and give me enough stuff to make sure I’m out. I don’t want to know I’m in the world,” I said.

“It seems like I do remember that conversation,” he said with a grin.

The reason I told him that is because on another tooth-ripping occasion (yes, that’s three!) I knew EVERYTHING the oral surgeon was doing. Not fun.

As much as you can love an oral surgeon, I love this one. Both times he has knocked me out completely with what he calls “the good stuff,” and brought me back to life again. His nurse is awesome, and makes me feel as at ease as possible.

I had a bonus of seeing these pretty leaves upon entering the office. I was so goofy on the way out that I didn’t notice them then. 😀

After a swollen-face day yesterday, all is better today. Oh, and I’ve had hardly anything to eat the last three days, and guess how much weight I’ve lost? Not one ounce.

You’d think I’d at least get that bonus.

This entry was posted in Humor, Photos, Random, Seasons, Weather and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tooth Ripping-Ouch Day

  1. BrainRants says:

    Air makes me gain weight also. Don’t feel bad.

Leave a Reply

