Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall


In North Carolina, they call Fall The Color Season, a most fitting name for my 2nd favorite season of the year. The bright and beautiful reds, oranges, and yellows of dying leaves of deciduous trees delight me every year.

Since I love Fall so much and the leaves aren’t turning here yet, I’ve included a few from this season, a few from last season, and one from our trip to the Smokies last year.

Dogwood Leaves

The Dogwood trees are just beginning to turn here, and the berries are showing off their beautiful red color.

Oak Leaves

These Oak leaves tell the tale of slowly turning color to bring on Fall.

Stick Flowers

I call these stick flowers, but they are actually Spider Lilies or Surprise Lilies. They spring up seemingly overnight in late Summer and early Fall. I love them.

Smoky Mountain Trees

I saw these beauties while we were driving the Roaring Fork Motor Trail in the Smoky Mountains.

Maple Tree

October 27th of last year was the peak for this beautiful Maple tree.

Angel in Cemetery

I love the image of this angel in a local cemetery that I captured last Fall on November 3, 2010.

Multicolored Tree

Have you ever seen a variegated tree before? I never had, either. This multicolored tree is my all time favorite. I’m watching it closely to see if it puts on the same show this year.

Here’s hoping we all have a beautiful Fall Color Season!

This entry was posted in Photos, postaday2011, postaweek2011, Seasons and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall

  1. Pingback: Trees, Changing Seasons & Writing | Elizabeth Kate Switaj

  2. stunkard says:

    Photography in a cemetery…I did that a lot when I was in Art School. Love it!

  3. Marianna says:

    Almost as good as being there. Thank you for sharing.

  4. Pingback: Most Favorite Time of Year? « Treasures of Life

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Fall | Stories of My Wandering Feet & Mind

Leave a Reply

