Mushroom Soup To Die For


Sautéing the Mushrooms

A couple of things you need to know right off the bat:

  1. If you don’t like mushrooms, you should go away now.
  2. This is a recipe I adapted slightly from one I found on the www. atkins.com site.
  3. I can’t seem to figure out how to add links, so if you can enlighten me, please do!

In the picture above, you see the beginnings of the most awesome mushroom soup you will ever put in your mouth.

You need two pounds of whatever mushrooms you like (I used button and some small darker brown ones that I don’t know the name of.)

1/2 small onion, or cut up green onions like I did

1 clove of garlic (or 2) NOT GRANULATED!

3 Tablespoons of Butter (or 4)

32 ounces of vegetable broth (I use organic chicken broth/stock–much tastier)

1/2 cup Dry Sherry

1 cup Heavy Whipping Cream

First, sauté the onion in the butter, then add the garlic, then add the mushrooms. Add salt and pepper. Cook until the mushrooms are soft and delicious. You will know this because you will taste them. Better yet, taste them two or three times. They are quite divine at this stage.

Simmering

Dump in the chicken broth and the sherry. Let all that simmer for 10 minutes.

This is VERY important–if you are a teetotaler, to make this recipe work you are going to have to go to an actual liquor store and buy real honest-to-goodness sherry that has alcohol content. You are NOT allowed to use cooking sherry or you will end up with salty disgustedness on your hands. Not pretty or tasty at all.

Blending

Next, the recipe says to put the simmering chunky soup into a blender in batches and blend until smooth. If you will use a cast iron dutch oven like I did, you can use the magical stick blender and avoid all the mess of having hot soup spew from the blender and the ensuing cleanup that is bound to follow. You also won’t have to clean up the blender.

Cream Added

After you get the soup all smooth, you add the cream and stir for 5 minutes.

Final Yumminess

Sorry the final picture is a little blurry, but believe me when I tell you that the flavor didn’t suffer at all. Oh. My. Goodness. I don’t even know how to tell you how delicious this soup is. You just have to make it for yourself.

You can thank me later.

This entry was posted in Food, Humor, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mushroom Soup To Die For

  1. mmm that looks delicious, I need to get myself some sherry and a blending stick asap!

  2. Pingback: Cream of Mushroom Soup « Rumblings of an Ol’ Curmudgeon

Leave a Reply

