Disembodied Scrabble aka Words with Friends


I like Words with Friends. Really, I do. I like online Scrabble, too. But there’s something just a little weird and disjointed about these disembodied games with no human interaction.

I get the concept of being able to play at your leisure at a time most convenient to your schedule. That’s cool. However, sometimes I wonder if I’m the only one who misses the human touch of a person physically sitting across the board from me.

I understand that online there is the chat feature, but I’ve noticed that players rarely use it, including me.

Is it so hard to communicate with the opponent? Is it too much trouble? Does it take too much time?

Probably all of the above–particularly the time aspect if you are playing 8 games at once. I mean, really–how on earth could you carry on a running conversation with that many people?

Oh, I know–you could if you were willing to take the time, and time is just not an entity to be parsed out freely to the online world.

Or is it? I think I’ll give it a try.

This entry was posted in Humor, Random, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Disembodied Scrabble aka Words with Friends

  1. It’s weird playing an actual game of Scrabble after months of Words with Friends. It feels awkward to have people actual watching and waiting for you take your turn!

Leave a Reply

