Chinese Moon Festival: One Reason Teaching ESL is Wonderful


Moon Cakes

Participating in the Chinese Moon Festival in Alabama of all places reminded me why I’m so lucky to be teaching international students.

Where else would this Alabama native be able to experience first-hand a little glimpse into a Chinese cultural tradition?

A few years ago, I’d never heard of the moon festival, much less a moon cake. I’d certainly never tasted one. Without exposure to these students, I never would have known that their festival coincides with our harvest moon.

I’ve tried several varieties of the moon cake including lotus and peanut. My favorite so far is the pineapple moon cake.

I’m constantly telling my students that they must try new things from other cultures. I, for one, am glad I experience new cultural tastes and sights often.

Happy Moon Festival!

This entry was posted in Culture, Food, Random and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chinese Moon Festival: One Reason Teaching ESL is Wonderful

  1. rolandmann says:

    I miss teaching ESL

Leave a Reply

