Change Sucks


I mean it. Change sucks. Ask anybody.

Do you know anybody who wants to get out of their well-established rut? If you think you do, ask them to fix their coffee a different way in the morning. Have them brush their teeth with the “wrong” hand. Tell them to drive a different route to work.

When’s the last time you did any of those things? Probably never, or only if you were forced to.

I had to brush my teeth and hair with my right hand which is my “wrong” hand because my left elbow was recovering from a dislocation. Did I like the change? No, I did not.

All of you who have decided that Yellow Box flip-flops are the best thing going–how many years has it been since you tried a different brand?

What about your hair style? It’s been a few years since you changed it, hasn’t it?

Jeans? I’m sure you have a favorite brand. How about a change there? I didn’t think so.

Guys, when was the last time you bought a different model car? 1989?

When you go to the beach, do you go to a different one or the same one every time? I think I can guess.

What about family members moving 100, 1,000, 5,000, or even 10,000 miles away? Were you ecstatic about that, or did you cry your eyes out?

I can promise you that I was not a happy camper when my daughter and grandbaby moved to California, even though it meant I got to go visit them in a weather-perfect place.

It was change, and I hated it.

I’m sure that some of you thrive on change, and I would like to think that I do, too, but when the rubber meets the road, I mostly want that rubber in the comfortable rut it has always rolled in.

This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

