Geocaching


What is it? Oh my. It’s wonderful. Magical. Adventuresome. Unexpected. Exciting. Surprising. Difficult. Easy. Awesome. Hard. Lovely. Hot. Cold. Perfect.

Why on earth would anyone choose to geocache? I stumbled upon it in 2003 or thereabouts in an article of the local newspaper. At the time, a GPSr was so expensive, I could only dream of geocaching one day, but I fell in love at first read.

Then, a couple of years later my DH (dear husband) wanted to know what I wanted for Christmas. I told him I wanted either a mini trampoline or a GPS. He chose the latter because he thought I would hurt myself on the trampoline. Hmmm.

Yellow GPSr

Little did he know that on my second cache find I would practically do the splits on a muddy hill and cause pain to muscles I hadn’t felt in a while.

Anyhoo, that Christmas gift changed my life. I became obsessed with geocaching, and still am, really. I found a cache or caches almost daily then, and had a glorious time hiking in the woods on my way to find them. It made my hiking have a purpose. I loved it!

I still love it, but in a different way now. Due to knee problems and a dislocated elbow one winter, the hiking has been replaced with easier cache finds. However, I still love caching because even if the ones I find now are easy, many times they bring me to places I would never have visited otherwise.

Amish Buggy

Geocaches range in Terrain and Difficulty from 1/1 to 5/5, with 1 being the easiest, and 5 being the hardest. Do you want a walkup? That’s a 1/1? Do you like to rappel or snorkel? That’s a 5/5. I love caching because anybody can find a cache they love!

Caches wait for you to find them all over the world! If you don’t believe me, check out www.geocaching.com to start on the adventure of your life!

This entry was posted in Geocaching and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

